Francesco Redi

Hello there! My name is Francesco Redi. I am writing this to inform you, the reader, of my theory Spontaneous Generation. This theory is about how life can come from non living things. Some examples include mice from corn, fish from mud, maggots from rotting meat and flies from bovine manure.

I conducted two experiments, both were unsuccessful. In the first experiment I put one piece of meat in a jar uncovered and the second piece of meat covered. I waited a few days. I uncovered jar had maggots on the meat and the second had maggots on the cloth. The second experiment I put gravy in a jar and heated it to kill all living things inside of it. A few days later I opened it and saw that there was life but accidentally didn’t heat it all the way.
Sources: http://www.infoplease.com/cig/biology/spontaneous-generation.html

Leave a Reply

